Birthday Parties Are Too Much!

San Francisco - SoMa: SF MoMA - Blue Bottle Ca...

San Francisco - SoMa: SF MoMA - Blue Bottle Cafe - Tony Cragg Ice Cream cone (Photo credit: wallyg)

At our house, we have a birthday coming up. The excitement builds… My one daughter has only 2 more sleeps to the big day. So I like to make her favourite meal, which happens to be strawberries, hotdogs, homemade french fries and a salad. Oh yes, and an ice cream sandwich birthday cake.
Then I am being the reading mom at school that day, I will take in cupcakes cooked in ice cream cones. A new recipe for me.
We will also set the table with pink tablecloth, pink serviette and some great balloons, yet to be purchased, most likely pink.  Now a couple of siblings have track practise that night, so the remaining family are going to a movie. Oh yes, and a present. Which I can tell you is a mermaid Barbie. So shhh….
Now that sounds like a pretty good birthday to me. But we still need to have a PARTY! Yikes, as the years have gone by, I am less enthused about birthday parties. I once asked my son what dollar figure it would take to not have a party. A lot is the answer.
Of course for the first-born, I would do juggling shows, face painting, dress as a clown, and present home-made everything. But as time goes on, I am looking at where to hire this out. Even though the cost is probably going to be 150 dollars. After a bit of shopping around that is close to the average price. What is the world coming to?
I did have a friend who asked if I wanted to share the party with her child, you know a combined party. But I am trying to fake my enthusiasm here, so I declined. It is bad enough I know I am not excited about this, and you know I am not ,but  the thing is I am still trying to hide it from the kid.
So for the party we need a venue, invites, cake, and loot bags. Since when did kids parties start needing venues, next it will be a party planner for pre-school parties.

It would be great to lower the bar,  just have kids over for a picnic or a movie and jammies, but it does not work that way. I blame it on Martha or the stay at home Moms who used to be corporate administrators. Or too much TLC shows on parties, or Life with Party Mommas. Perhaps this might be a little business for me Low Expectations for Birthdays! How to disappoint your child for Less, could be my advertising line.

I realize I may be part of the problem, in the birthday loot bags, I am giving hats from 2cutetoques (check out their facebook page), candies and a kool-aid lunch bag.  I need to take a STAND.   You bet I will refuse to continue this foolishness. I know in 5  or 7 , maybe 8  years I will NOT do it, anymore. You heard it here first. 

Well I will not do it until next year, at least.  Happy Birthday Sweetheart!

4 comments on “Birthday Parties Are Too Much!

  1. Awsome blog! I am loving it!! Will be back later to read some more. I am bookmarking your feeds also

  2. selebration says:

    My brother suggested I may like this website. He used to be entirely right. This post truly made my day. You cann’t imagine just how so much time I had spent for this information! Thank you!

  3. leona says:

    Thanks. Birthday party turned out a success, birthday girl was happy!

Leave a Reply

