Farm Camp

Česky: Krávy na krásné zelené louce English: C...

Image via Wikipedia

My daughter went to horse camp with her cousin.  It included a couple of nights sleep over, lots of horse riding, campfires, and fun. So while she was there I went to my Mom’s farm,. The first time I had been to my mom’s with no kids for at least a decade, probably longer. I know what a great time 2 days and 2 nights of Mom and daughter time, pure bliss.

The thing is my Mom is no ordinary mom. She is now a senior and still farms by herself. So the first night we have coffee and play scrabble,  have lots of chatting, very great. And in the morning, we feed a few animals and then have coffee with her friends in town, who are all super nice. This is a lovely relaxing time.

BUT when we get to the farm, my Mom suggests we move some cattle to the pasture. So we get the cows and a few calves organized and start them down the road.  Now most of my Mom’s cows are like pets but hitting the open road with a stranger (me) does get them excited.They decided to do a little Thelma and Louise. So there was a bit of running, they took off down the ditch and into my cousins field and I am running after them.  Of course I did a stop, drop and roll in the ditch as I misread the steepness of it.  But when you have cows hitting someones field, you need to stop, drop and roll and get up and start running again. So once we got them back on the road, I walked behind them to keep them moving the 6 miles to the pasture. My Mom who was driving the truck offered to switch places half way, but seriously …..do I want the neighbors talking about me! 

I love being outside and I like cows, who often walk in a straight line, but all it takes is one or two who want to wander from ditch to ditch, truly in search of greener pastures,but that can easily turn 6 miles into 10 or perhaps 12. When we get them to the corrals, we have to ear tag and do a little veterinary work on the calves. And trust me as cute as they may be, calves can kick very hard  and always right at  your shins!  Upon finishing that we walked the cattle back another half mile.  I think this might be Farm Boot camp. Forgot Gillian from  the biggest loser, come hang out with Pat and her pet cows.

We go home, Mom lets me ride in the truck this time, along with her dog Max.  Moving up the ladder, I am. At home we sit in our coveralls eating cold chicken and toast and have a spot of java. Oh wait, we are not done, this was just our lunch break. We hit the outdoors to fix fence.  Grab fence posts, crow bar, hammer and staples. When we get to the field we first chase a cow out of the oats, then back the truck up to the fence. My Mom digs the hole, then I stand on the back of the pick up with the sledge-hammer and pound that post into the ground, and proceed to we staple the barbed wire onto it.  We put in about 7 posts. There is nothing like using a sledge-hammer to fix those upper arms. After we finish that job, we go into the house, and my sister comes for coffee. She remarks on our matching outfits. Ha. Ha. Couture Coveralls.

After she leaves,  we decide to paint the window trim. My brother had replaced my mom’s window and the trim needed done. So out comes the paint, brush and I paint.  That completed I decide to go to bed, more like collapse into bed.

In the morning I  have a coffee while I repaint the window trim.

My Mom had made the coffee and was chatting while washing dishes, for heaven forbid she have a dishwasher, what would she do all day! Her words not mine.

I go outside and start to remove the shingles off the dog house     and begin re-shingling it. My Mom heads off to feed some chickens, cats and the cattle still at the farm.

I need to work fast on the dog house as I need to pick my daughter up that day. Which perhaps might be a good thing, can I keep up to my Mom? Will I need a holiday from my holiday?

This was a great holiday, I love being busy and love working on actual work. I may have just needed to be in a training program.

I often wonder how my Mom is so healthy, fit and spry and perhaps it is because her days are always like that. In the city you see people out running, and hitting the gym, perhaps they just need to go to farm camp. Hmm….might be a little business for my Mom.  She could get some help and they could get fit.

She could call it Pat’s pounds, or Keeping up with Mom, or Farm Fitness or …….the Biggest Loser on the Real Farm.

2 comments on “Farm Camp

  1. Hmmm…sounds so familiar! Do you think folks would pay to do this? No, that’s what I’ve decided. I’m the weird one (of two?) that thinks this is fun!

Leave a Reply

