Mom, please…….

I decided after a bout with the flu that everyone in the house had to man up and hit the flu clinic. Now if you can imagine none of my kids were very excited about it. So of course I used my expert parenting skills and…wait for it…. bribed them to do it.

So we drive to the clinic, which everyone remembers from a past NEEDLE. So far off to a good start. One child was begging me, I do not want to do it. Another…yelling.  I convince everyone to come in by saying they can  just watch me. You bet, I was lying my face off. We do all of the paper work. No line up, yippee.  My troupe invades a nurses station. We decide to go with the nasal mist. I even volunteer to go first. Easy peasy lemon squeezy.

So after much convincing, and showing stickers, reminding about the bribe, I mean treat, my second youngest does it. Then the youngest. Meanwhile I have one screaming bloody blue murder and yelling NO, No.  We all try to convince her, tell her firmly be quiet, take her for a little walk to calm down, get a private room, hold her hand, still no go.  Eventually after everyone person in the place is traumatized we leave, no sticker, no rewards. In our wake were small children and nursing staff that needed therapy.

Then I start the car to take the 2 kids to the store for the treat and tell the third, you do not get one. So on the way the assault starts. My youngest says Mom, please, she did not understand, she was just scared, and  what if I get a  really small treat, then can she have one, really Mom, can you give her a second chance.

English: This figure illustrates the function ...

English: This figure illustrates the function of the Everyday Parenting curriculum (EPC). “FCU” in this figure refers to The Family Check Up which utilizes the Everyday Parenting curriculum. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

 So sweet, it was breaking my heart.  Please Mom, just think about it.

I know as every parent knows, if you have said, the ones that get the flu shot get the treat, you follow through. But the problem was becoming the child was begging not for herself but for her sister. I was beginning to feel like a complete meanie!!!

So what did I do….

Bought 3 treats….BAD!

2 comments on “Mom, please…….

  1. I probably would have caved in too. Then I would try to recover by finding a constructive way to justify it. Maybe thanking the child for what she did do – being brave and going in the clinic. Then build sibling relations by talking about how wonderful it was that her sister wanted something good for her.

  2. P.S. Thanks for linking to me!

Leave a Reply

